

Meeting Minutes

Date/Time: Tuesday, May 18, 2021, at 10:30 AM

Location: Virtual Meeting

1. Call to Order

Mr. Steve Stepek called the meeting to order at 10:30 AM.

2. Changes or Additions to the Agenda

Mr. Jason Nordberg made a motion to approve the agenda as presented, supported by Ms. Tanya DeOliveira. The **motion passed** unanimously.

3. Approval of the April 20, 2021 Meeting Minutes

Mr. Steve Duke made a motion to approve the minutes as presented, supported by Ms. Lindsay Wallace. The **motion passed** unanimously.

4. Treasurer's Report

Ms. Lindsay Wallace reported:

The account balance is currently \$17,264.

5. Education Committee

Ms. Maja Bolanowska reported:

• The 2021 conference registration is available online at mtpa2021.midlandmpo.org.

6. Policy Committee

Mr. Tom Bruff reported:

- Some MPOs are unable to access the shared GPA document through Microsoft Teams and the document will also be added to the shared google drive. More information will be forthcoming from Mr. Don Mayle.
- Ongoing discussions regarding 5303 and PL funds. Ms. Anita Boughner will provide a matrix of scenarios from OPT.
- A memo of understanding to access MDOT data files is being created.

7. FHWA / FTA Update

Mr. Andrew Sibold reported:



• FHWA will offer a series of webinars for Transportation and Economic Development analysis, beginning with the MTPA conference this summer.

8. Asset Management Council (TAMC)

Mr. Ryan Buck reported:

- The 2020 Roads and Bridges annual report has been released.
- FY 2020 funding has been extended until June 2020. Coordinate with Mr. Roger Belknap if you will need more flexibility with those funds.

9. Technical Committee

Ms. Suzann Flowers reported:

 The Technical Committee is working with Ms. Heidi Phaneuf and Mr. Steve Brudzinski to set a meeting agenda to discuss projected targets and rate of increases for TIP development.

10. JobNet Tech Report

Mr. Steve Stepek reported:

- The Committee is working on some minor technical issues including database connections from JobNet and Sigma for obligation numbers.
- Reminder to attach exported fiscal constraint documents when submitting TIP amendments in JobNet.

11. MDOT

a. General Updates

Mr. Don Mayle reported:

- Introduced new intern, Katie Stewart, for MDOT Statewide Planning.
- Return to work is scheduled for July 12. MDOT staff will not be permitted to attend in person meeting until then unless needed for quorum.
- The UWP process is moving forward throughout the state. Most program managers have received advanced drafts and were able to provide comments before UWPs went through the MPO committee process for approval.
- Ongoing work to improve programmatic issues with the reconciliation of transit projects.



b. TPM Updates

Mr. John Lanum reported:

- Public transit safety plans are due to MPOs in July. These targets are not required to be approved, but must be accepted by the committee process.
- An updated calendar of deadlines will be forthcoming.

c. Financial Updates

Heidi Phaneuf reported:

- MDOT was notified from FHWA of FY2021 repurposing funds. More information with be forthcoming to MPOs.
- A FAQ sheet was provided regarding Covid relief special eligibility funds. MDOT
 will continue to update that resource. Special eligibility projects are not required
 to be in the S/TIP but do require proper documentation of the committee
 approval process.
- Covid funds for cities, villages, and townships (ARP funds) were recently extended to allow for additional uses including transportation.

12. Adjournment

Mr. Steve Stepek adjourned the meeting at 11:07 AM.



Meeting Attendance Tuesday, May 18, 2021 at 10:30 a.m.

Organization
GVMC
MDOT
WMSRDC
MDOT
MDOT
BayCATS
MDOT
Midland MPO
Midland MPO
MDOT
MDOT
MDOT
TCRPC
SWMPC
SCCOTS
MDOT
MDOT
MDOT
MDOT
WATS
BCATS
MDOT



Ryan Buck	WATS
Steven Stepek	KATS
Katherine Parker	MDOT
James Snell	TCRPC
Jeff Franklin	MDOT
Suzann Flowers	WATS
Katie Stewart	MDOT
Mitch Huber	MDOT
Emily Lake	WATS
Demetra Manley	SATA
Joel Fitzpatrick	WMSRDC
Steve Duke	R2PC
Steve Brudzinski	SEMCOG
Max Gierman	MDOT
Mark Kloha	MDOT
Andrew Sibold	FHWA
Andy Pickard	FHWA
Jim Sturdevant	MDOT
Tanya DeOliveira	R2PC
Edward Fowler	MDOT
Tom Bruff	SEMCOG
Tyler Kent	MACC
Jason Nordberg	GCMPC